A Cartoon Critique Special: Animation Aftermath (My Top 5 Animated Movies & Experiences for 2016) #Denzel2016

Animation this year is absolutely brilliant that it completely takes me to different places and characters that break barriers never broken before. Beyond the aspect of technology, this marks the year that animation is leaping towards boundaries of adult humor and issues that rise above the expectations of viewers of all ages. As I grow older and watch more of these movies, the animation companies realize that animation is a complex tool to use for expressing the matters of society in endless directions and levels of magnitude. Some were mediocre. Some were awesome! Other than reviewing each of these movies’ elements in terms of story, I would also be giving my own experiences based on their actual events and influence in my life. So, let the Animation Aftermath commence!

 

5. The Angry Birds Movie (Self-Esteem)

This is not just an app-inspired movie. It’s a realistic story of a bird flying (or catapulting) towards his destiny.

The Angry Birds Movie, apart from being a fun and adventurous film, is a relevant movie for me at this time of my life since I grew up from the depths of loneliness and social problems until this point. In college, you need to find your true place in the world which is kinda hard to do if you walk around the neighborhood being laughed at for your indifferences and weird outlooks upon the world. Red is the perfect model for anyone who wants to live a good life only to find embarrassment from everyone you talk to. Heck, even the Mighty Eagle’s got some of his own issues as well about the hope that he’s giving to other birds, including Red! Well, eventually, Red catapults his way towards the most momentous occasion of his life: finding his place within the bird community. I learned to find my place in school along with my peers to assess myself about where my success will be and take me to. Only my self-esteem can take me to where I will be into the future.

 

4. Kung Fu Panda 3 (Creativity)

DreamWorks cannot stop on putting motivation through the stomach of this panda warrior into the hearts of aspiring warriors of all kinds!

Po has been a one-of-a-kind, kung fu warrior who doesn’t follow the rules of the art like most fighters. His style may be called “Foodeception”! He defeated a couple of main villains and hundreds of their comrades using this style which works super effectively 😉 He delivers a smashing (kaboosh!) comeback in this three-parter with an extremely out-of-this-world villain (literally!) that he defeats. Before he did this though, Master Shifu taught him about the way of the chi which he didn’t master at first, expressing his signature awkwardness and humor yet again! However, Po meets his dad and learns the way of the chi in his own unique style once again which makes me engage to watch him a lot. In my case, I am always trying to be as creative as I can be so that I can meet a lot of people who can be interested in me. I use different elements to make myself a creative product that I see in other people. Po acts as himself, so do I. This made me reflect upon my creative skills and improve them as I grow into a much better person.

 

3. The Secret Life of Pets (Loyalty)

Illumination goes from minions to pets in this heartwarming tale of loyalty and friendship, for both pets and owners.

The movie literally tells of a story of a dog and his owner. This might hint at a well-known cliche’, but it suddenly shows another side of this movie’s theme. First, Max, a small Jack Russell Terrier, was adopted by a girl named Katie from a pet shop set upon the streets of New York into her apartment and has become her favorite pet ever since. Second, Duke is a large, hairy dog that was adopted (by Katie, again) from the pound and into the apartment of Katie and Max. He isn’t warmly received by Max who rages in jealousy that quickly manifests into an intense, tug-of-war fight between them all throughout the urban, New York City. I have come and gone from various rivalries with former friends and colleagues over the years, but this year, I developed my emotions into understanding my friends’ experiences and struggles in their lives which empathize too myself. Max and Duke realize that they need each other to be loyal to Katie no matter what, and in turn, be loyal to each other. I always wish to be with my friends for as long as they can be with me to stay loyal in pursuing good lives.

 

2. Zootopia (Optimism)

Disney hits the adult entertainment range with a buddy cop-style movie about a narcissistic fox and an optimistic rabbit forced to get along to solve a complex crime.

I am not exactly going to focus on the partnership of Nick and Judy, but instead reflect upon Judy’s intense optimism in making Zootopia a better place. Ever since I was a kid, I am told that the world was a bright and creative place to be in. I went on to be the best kid I can be to everyone, from my parents to friends to relatives. As I grow to be a much more mature kid, I had to deal with my problems face to face, engaging in fights, misunderstandings, and arguments with people who don’t agree with me. Eventually, they became my friends because I went on to make them look in their lives and realize their connections with my own life until now. Judy proved to everyone and herself just that. Teaming up with Nick, solving a highly dangerous crime and standing up to the chief of the ZPD (Zootopia Police Department) that she is destined to be a loyal and dedicated police officer. She knows that real life tends to thwart your aspirations to become who you want to be, but you should change along with it. She even said herself,

“Life’s a little bit complicated than a slogan on a bumper sticker. Real life is messy. We all have limitations. We all make mistakes…No matter what kind of person you are, I implore you: Try. Try to make the world a better place. Look inside yourself and recognize that change starts with you. It starts in all of us.”

This is what I’m looking forward to do every single day.

 

1. Finding Dory (Nostalgia & Family)

This is a Pixar sequel that emulates the prior, both which show nostalgic reflection on family and friendship, and compose a harmony of tragedy and success.

‘Finding Nemo’ was the first Pixar film I have ever watched. Until then, it was just a frivolous, enjoyable, and humorous adventure about finding a fish that was swept away by scuba divers from his father and placed in a fish tank. After some very courageous and determined events, the lost fish reunites with his father, safe and sound (in addition to saving the lives of other fish in the fishing grounds). In this sequel, thirteen years later from the release of the first film (one year later after the EVENTS of the first film), the blue tang with short-term memory loss who accompanied the father to save his son, Dory, shares her story and adventure in a more revitalized and wide setting.

As I turn a page in my life, I have gone back to my childhood a lot lately just to reflect on what I’ve done for the past years of my existence. Just like Dory, I still want to remain a good connection with my parents. The nostalgic outbursts in Dory’s memory shows that she still cares about her parents deeply in valuing the trait of family. She had already established this since she met Marlin and Nemo. However, Dory proves that family never leaves each other behind. Marlin even tried to discourage Dory from forging in this quest, but her undying love for her family glows within her even more than the strings of light entering the blue, ocean water. I also highlight my family as the greatest aspect of my life and certainly, the most valuable.

Verdict For The Year

Overall, this year has been a growing experience and I just want to grow as the truest person I can be to myself and to others. As I live my college life I’ll guarantee myself to learn as much as I can.

#Denzel2016 #DigiJournPrelimExam2016

Leave a comment